Commissioners By District

        Commissioners Group Photo 2024 (JPG)

Front Row: Jesse Osmer, District 2; Robin LaLonde, District 3; John Kozlowski, Chairman, District 8; Brenda Fournier, District 5.
Back row:  Keri Bertrand, County Clerk; Bill LaHaie, District 1; Bill Peterson, District 4; Burt Francisco, Vice Chairman, District 6; Travis Konarzewski, District 7.

The County Board of Commissioners is the governing board and policy-making body of county government. While many of its powers, duties, and responsibilities are prescribed by law, the Board is in charge of the development and approval of county policy. One of the main duties of the Board is to set the budget of the county. Commissioners are elected to a two-year term in one of the eight districts in the County.

The Full Board meetings will be held on the LAST Tuesday of the month at 1:00 p.m. in the County Annex Building in the Howard Male Conference Room.

NOTE: Meeting dates are subject to change, please confirm the date, time, and place with the Commissioner’s Office.

Bill-LaHaie-240x300Photo Credit: CM Photography
 Alpena LLC

District 1
Precincts 5 & 6
William LaHaie (R)

Phone: 989 657-9079

District 1 serves the City of Alpena from 11th Street to State Street and Chisholm St. over to Tuttle St. Elected as County Commissioner on January 1, 2023, & will serve two years.


District 2
Precinct 1
Jesse Osmer (R)

Phone: 989.255.3047

District 2 serves the City of Alpena on the north side of Alpena from Chisholm Street at the hospital to the boat harbor.


District 3
Precincts 3 & 4
Robin LaLonde (R)

Phone: 989.464.8855

District 3 covers part of the City of Alpena. Robin was appointed by the County Commissioners on May 9, 2023.


District 4
Precincts 2 & 3
Bill Peterson (R)

Phone: 989.255.0208

District 4 serves from Monaghan Point Road to U.S. 23 to Bloom Road and all the way to M-32. Bill Peterson was elected as County Commissioner starting January 1, 2017.

Brenda-Fournier-240x300Photo Credit: CM Photography
 Alpena LLC

District 5
Precincts 4 & 5
Brenda Fournier (R)

Phone: 989.255.8524

District 5 Alpena Township serves Precincts 4 and 5 of Alpena Township. Brenda was elected to serve as 5th District County Commissioner starting in 2017.

Burt-Francisco-240x300Photo Credit: CM Photography
 Alpena LLC

District 6 & Vice Chairman
Precinct 1
Burt Francisco (R)

Phone: 616.560.1122

District 6 serves all of Maple Ridge Township, a small portion of Long Rapids Township (east of M-65), and a small portion of Alpena Township.

Travis-Konarzewski-240x300Photo Credit: CM Photography
 Alpena LLC

District 7
Travis Konarzewski (R)

Phone: 989.464.2611

District 7 serves Wilson Township, Green Township, Wellington Township, and the west half of Long Rapids Township.

John-Kozlowski-240x300Photo Credit: CM Photography
 Alpena LLC

District 8 & Chairman of the Board
John Kozlowski (R)

Phone: 989.464.2194

District 8 serves Sanborn and Ossineke Townships. Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any thoughts or concerns you may have regarding our County.